Office Hours
8:30 am to 5:00 pm

Telephone Numbers
St. George Magistrate Court
Phone: (843) 563-0130
(843) 832-0130

FAX: (843) 563-0123
(843) 832-0123

Summerville Magistrate Court
Phone:(843) 832-0370
(843) 563-0370

FAX:(843) 832-0371
(843) 563-0371

St. George Magistrate Court
 Dorchester County Courthouse
5200 East Jim Bilton Boulevard
St. George, SC 29477-2443

Summerville Magistrate Court
Troy Knight Judicial Complex
212 Deming Way, Box 10
Summerville, SC 29483


Dorchester County Magistrate Courts

There are approximately 300 Magistrates in South Carolina that are appointed to four year terms. Dorchester County currently has 12 Magistrates whose hours of service range from 10 to 40 hours per week. Magistrates have jurisdiction over criminal/traffic offenses that carry a punishment of a fine and/or a jail sentence that is not more than 30 days generally.They also have jurisidiction
over civil disputes when the amount in controversy does not exceed
$7,500 commonly referred to as “Small Claims Court”. The Magistrate Court also processes evictions, restraining orders, sets bail, conducts preliminary hearings, and issues arrest and search warrants.

Dorchester County Magistrate Courts

Central Bond Court
Located in the Summerville Magistrates Court
212 Deming Way, Box 10
Summerville  SC  29483
Phone 843-832-0370 ext. 5423

Bond hearings are scheduled at 8:30 am and 4:30 pm every day. This includes weekends and holidays. Releases can be done in Summerville and St. George during regular business hours.

Summerville court directions click here

Frequently asked questions regarding Magistrates
Court, click here

For online case information click here.

To pay a traffic ticket click here

Magistrate Court Forms, click here

For Collections of Judgments click here



The Honorable Maite’ Murphy
Chief Magistrate

The Honorable Victor G. Stephens
Associate Chief Magistrate

The Honorable Jackie G. Jenkins

The Honorable Tera S. Richardson

The Honorable Janice Y. Simmons

The Honorable Arthur Bryngelson

The Honorable Gary Cook

The Honorable Myron Johnson

The Honorable Amanda Leviner

The Honorable Frederick Newton

The Honorable Katrina Patton

The Honorable Brandt Shelbourne

Home Departments County Council Online Services Jobs Events Contact Us